Miami CTSI

E-mail a Friend

Pilot Program Award Recipients

Miami CTSI pilot grant awardees are, from left, Suhrud Rajguru, Ph.D., Ali Nayer, M.D., and Francisco Vega, M.D., Ph.D.

Below are the recipients of the CTSI Pilot Program Awards. The grants are for one year and provide for direct research costs. See the CTSI Pilot Program Awards page for information about applying for funding. Congratulations to all the recipients.

Funding Cycle 2013-2014

Ali Nayer, M.D., Associate Professor of Medicine
Project Title: Mycophenolate Mofetil in the Treatment of Type 2 Diabetic Nephropathy in Hispanics and African Americans

Suhrud Rajguru, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Project Title: Hearing preservation and neuroprotective effects of hypothermia during cochlear implant surgery: mechanisms and treatment

Francisco Vega, M.D., Ph.D., Professor of Pathology
Project Title: IKKβ Regulates the Transcriptional Activity of GLI1 in Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma

Funding Cycle 2012-2013

Alessia Fornoni, M.D., Ph.D., Associate Professor of Medicine
Project Title: Personalized podocyte biology for the prediction of diabetic kidney disease in high-risk populations

Sonjia Kenya, Ed.D., Assistant Research Professor of Medicine
Project Title: Feasibility of home-based HIV Rapid Testing (HRT) among African-Americans in Miami, Fla.

Subbarayan Pochi, Ph.D., Research Assistant Professor of Medicine
Project Title: Characterization of bioactive saponins with anticancer activity from Achyranthes aspera.

Dileep Yavagal, M.D., Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology and Neurological Surgery
Project Title: Time window of intracarotid mesenchymal stem cell (IC-MSC) therapy in a large animal model of stroke

Related News

Three UM Researchers Awarded Miami CTSI Pilot Program Funding
Four Miller School Researchers Awarded Miami CTSI Pilot Program Grants

E-mail a Friend