Miami CTSI

Three Miller School Faculty Receive Career Development Awards from the Miami CTSI


From Left: Drs. Ayham Alkhachroum, Corinna G. Levine and Jashodeep Datta

The Miami CTSI has named three new scholars to its Mentored Translational Research Scholars Program (KL2) for fiscal years FY2020-2021.

CTSI’s KL2 Scholars program provides a structured research training environment that allows early stage faculty to acquire the skills and experience needed to become outstanding independent clinical and translational investigators.

These faculty will receive mentorship, an individualized research and career development plan, experiential training with established faculty, and access to educational programs and supportive resources through CTSI’s various programs.

Funding is awarded to those who demonstrate a commitment to a career in clinical and/or translational research and whose proposals are translational and have the highest potential for success.

Two of the awards are jointly funded by the departments of neurology and surgery at the Miller School of Medicine.


  • Ayham Alkhachroum, M.D., assistant professor of neurology in the division of neurocritical care, will study electrophysiologic biomarkers of consciousness recovery after traumatic brain injury.
  • Jashodeep Datta, M.D., assistant professor of surgery in the division of surgical oncology, will develop a novel immunotherapeutic strategy to overcome immunotherapy resistance in Ras-p53 cooperative malignancies of gastrointestinal cancers.
  • Corinna G. Levine, M.D., M.P.H., assistant professor of otolaryngology, will develop an integrated disease profile of chronic rhinosinusitis (CRS), a common debilitating inflammatory disease, in order to personalize patient care early on and mitigate health care disparities of CRS.


The KL2 Scholars program is led by CTSI’s Institutional Career Development Core Principal Investigator Gwendolyn Scott, M.D., professor of pediatrics and director of the Division of Pediatric Infectious Disease and Immunology, and co-directed by Tatjana Rundek, M.D., Ph.D., and Alessia Fornoni, M.D., Ph.D.

Dr. Rundek is professor of neurology and public health sciences, executive vice chair for research and faculty affairs in the Department of Neurology, scientific director of the Evelyn F. McKnight Brain Institute, and Evelyn F. McKnight Chair for Learning and Memory in Aging at the Miller School. She is also the director of CTSI’s Master’s of Science in Clinical and Translational Investigation program. Dr. Fornoni is professor of medicine and molecular and cellular pharmacology at the Miller School and chief of the Katz Family Division of Nephrology and Hypertension.

E-mail a Friend