Miami CTSI

Director Dr. Ralph Sacco Named to CTSA Program Steering Committee


Miami CTSI Director and Principal Investigator Ralph Sacco, M.D.

The National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS) has announced the new members of its Clinical and Translational Science Awards (CTSA) Program steering committee, including Miami CTSI Director and Principal Investigator Ralph Sacco, M.D.

“I am delighted to be selected as a new member of the NCATS CTSA Program Steering Committee that provides guidance to the all of the CTSA programs in the U.S. It is a great opportunity to proudly represent all of the great work that we are doing at our Miami CTSI hub and help drive new strategies to accelerate translational research for better therapies for our patients and public,” said Sacco, who is also professor and chair of neurology and the Olemberg Family Chair of Neurological Disorders at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine.

Dr. Sacco’s appointment will be a three-year term beginning January 1, 2020.

The steering committee provides leadership for the sharing of policies, practices and resources, and discussion of issues impeding clinical research. The committee identifies and recommends best practices and policies to advance clinical and translational research as a discipline and facilitates collaboration and sharing among CTSA Program institutions as well as with academic, industry and other partners in clinical and translational research.

Additionally, Dr. Sacco and each committee PI member will represent a “pod” comprised of five to six CTSA hubs. Pods facilitate bidirectional communication between the committee and all consortium PIs.

To read a complete list of new members, visit the CTSA website.

E-mail a Friend